Applications & Financial Information

The MSc Nanoscience degree is a collaboration between 4 South African universities namely, Nelson Mandela University, University of Johannesburg, University of Free State and the University of the Western Cape.  The first 9 months of coursework is offered at the University of the Western Cape.  Thereafter, students return to their home university where they complete the research project.

Kindly apply to only ONE of the following universities.

Nelson Mandela University 

University of the
Free State

University of Johannesburg

University of the Western Cape


South African students with a BSc (Hons) degree in Physics, Chemistry or Biology, with an average of 60% and above are welcome to apply. 


All successful applicants will be awarded a full bursary.  There is no separate application process for funding.

A full scholarship is provided, which includes all registration fees, tuition and on-campus accommodation costs. An annual stipend to assist with personal costs is provided. Additionally an allowance towards printing and copying costs together with the purchase of a laptop with modem and data, is included.

Research Centres and Facilities

Copyright © 2020 Nanoscience Postgraduate Teaching & Training Programme